9 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_aiysha_*

Guest_aiysha_*
  • Guests

غير متواجدة

نقاط الإعجاب: 0

Posted 29 November 2003 - 04:14 PM

Dear Sisters

I am new to Islam by 3 months.  I work for a hospital triage service.  Last night I gave my shawl to a nurse, who is a very dear friend.  She is a cancer patient and just started chemo therapy.  She was upset about a call and ran her fingers thru her hair.  She became very upset when a large portion of her hair came out.  I gave her my shawl and another nurse helped me to wrap it around her head.  My fiance' is very angry with me for doing this and he basically said that I was lying about my shawl and he does not want to discuss it.  I felt I did the right thing on preserving her dignaty.  I prayed to Allah about this and I feel I did a good thing, but I am made to feel that I did something terrably wrong.  Did I? sad.gif

Judy                    

#2 khadi1

khadi1

Active Sister

• Members
  • 8,066 posts

غير متواجدة

Posted 29 November 2003 - 04:48 PM

Assalamou aleikoum sis,

Well, this is my personal opinion, not an Islamic fatwa. In my opinion, you did well and you did wrong. You did well to try to preserve someone dignity but you did wrong in  giving her your scarf therefore being uncovered. It would have been better if you gave her something else to wrap around her head, or if you did not think straight, you should have found something for yourself to wrap around your head. But, to tell you the truth, it would never occured to me to take out my own scarf to put it on someone else's head, but maybe this is because I am so used to it by now, Alhamdullilah.

Explain to you fiance that you did not think straight, and yes, you have made a mistake, and Inshallah, it will not happen again , and that you are sorry about it and nobody should accuse someone else of lying without any proof.
Just one question : you do not see your fiance by yourself, do you???